New year, new resolutions

Happy New Year!

I’ve always been one for goals and planning, so you can only imagine how invigorating the end of the year is for me. I get to step back and reflect on the year. But even better, I get to set out new challenges and plans for the year ahead. I’ve been thinking about one phrase to encapsulate my focus for the year, and to take a page from Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project (which I am currently reading and enjoying quite a bit), been creating a list of actionable resolutions. Recently, I came across this simple idea for creating resolutions as a family, which was too awesome to pass up. I don’t know if Kelvin will indulge me by participating, and Andy is not yet able to express coherent words, but nonetheless, here are my resolutions!

THIS YEAR I WILL…

Start a new habit: drink at least a litre of water every day

Read a good book: Foster’s Celebration of Discipline (which I have been trying to get to forever) and The Third Teacher

Learn a new skill: Investing (and just general personal finance)

Go on a visit to: Upper Canada Village

Break a bad habit: sleeping late

Look forward to: attending this conference and this conference

Try something new: incorporate urban studies and design thinking into my teaching

Leave a Reply

