My planner

I love tech. I am all for integrating it into the classroom, and I love what the cloud has been able to do for remote access. That being said, there is something about a pen and paper agenda that just trumps everything.

I’ve been using paper agendas all my life. In grade school, I was given a new one each year by my teacher (you know, the ones with the clear “today” ruler/bookmark and the holographic covers), and when I got to university, I stuck with the same day-at-a-glance agenda that I bought each August. When I graduated, I moved to using moleskine’s weekly planner. 

Then, shortly after Kelvin and I got married, we started using magneto cal to coordinate our schedules. It is no longer available, which makes me sad, because I might have actually stuck to it had that been an option. We moved over to a shared google calendar after that, but I was not thrilled with all the notifications and emails amongst other things. Yes I could have turned those off, but I just found myself disregarding most everything I put into it. 

When I knew I was going to be going on mat leave, I decided to bring the paper agenda back. I looked online for inspiration about how best to organize it, and after playing around with different options, blending a number of journal styles (like passion planner and bullet journal), and testing for the last few months, I’ve come up with what works best for me.  

  
I am still a huge fan of the moleskine weekly planner, and have already purchased my 2016 planner already. You’ll notice that this particular one is red – in an attempt to organize my agendas I will be using a red hard cover one for every year that is a multiple of 5 (e.g. 2015). 

On the left side is a weekly view starting on Monday. At the very top of the page I have room for my top 3 priorities. Now that I’m not working I don’t really have a lot of super pressing priorities, but I usually have one or two each week.

I divide the space allotted for each day in two. On the left I write down appointments and on the right I put day-specific notes and tasks. The weekend is usually not as nicely delineated because I have less space, but it’s fine. 

On the right, I have four main sections:

  1. MEMORIZE: when I come across verses in scripture that I want to commit to memory, I write it in the next available week so that I have a new verse each week. Then, every time I open my agenda that week I practice memorizing that verse.
  2. TO DO: I keep a running list of tasks that I need to do that week which are not day-specific, with a checkbox beside it. One strike through the middle means a task is in progress, a full my stricken box means I’ve completed the task, and an arrow means I’m referring to next week. 
  3. NOTES: This is a catch all section for things I come across or need to remember. Mostly these are bullet points, but I also have an icon code specifically for notes related to websites, blogs, eating, priority, ideas and books. 
  4. TRACKING: I keep track of whether or not I’ve done my daily devotions and also how many times I go to the gym. Sadly I only went once on this particular week.

There are other nuances to how I record daily life via my planner, but these are the essentials. 

4 thoughts on “My planner

  1. Ok… you just inspired me to get off my backside and do something similar with my Moleskine notebook. At the moment it’s just full of random chunks of writing. Love the idea of using it as a planner…

Leave a Reply

