22.

Writing this post from our new home (!!) at 1 in the morning. On my phone. It’s been a busy week to say the least. 

As of this week, Andy is officially five months old! Where did the time go? We’ve commented multiple times on how little time has actually passed, but how it feels as if he’s been with us forever. Earlier today I was looking at my Facebook timeline (which I rarely do) and found a picture of him when he was just a few weeks old. I can’t believe he has grown so much since then. I mean, look at this mischievous guy!

  

He continues to chat up a storm, and his little personality is really shining through. He loves it when people talk to him and  hates to be left out of anything – conversations, mealtime, get-togethers… With my family in town, this means that he has been heading to bed later because he’s just so excited! This also expedited our need to add the baby set to his Tripp Trapp, which Kelvin and my dad did last night, so that he can sit at the table with us now. His curiosity continues to grow, and I love watching him stare intently at new things :)

One great thing about us moving to a bigger place is that Andy has a much bigger room. We had some trouble with configurations earlier, what with outlets and vents and windows and all, but I think we’ve settled on a nice arrangement. It’s also been great having our own ensuite. And a walk-in closet. And a study that’s a little bit removed from the rest of the living space. What luxury!

One thing that wasn’t so great was the physical act of moving. Now I know why people hate it! And also why people hire movers! My parents continue to remind me that we had a ridiculously easy move (I mean, 3/4 of our furniture is still over at the old house), but I still stand by my statement that moving is a pain. We rented a U-haul and did the heavy lifting ourselves. And by we I mean mostly Kelvin and my dad. I need to get to the gym more. My strength level on a scale of 1-10 is maybe a 3.5. Subpar at best. 

So I won’t go into detail about our U-haul experience, but here are five things I learned:

  1. Always check the vans before you leave the lot
  2. Insurance is $15 but there is a $150 deductible if they notice any damage
  3. Diligence is not a forte at this establishment
  4. Driving a large vehicle is both frightening and exhilarating 
  5. The 9′ cargo vans do not fit a queen size mattress vertically (it fits diagonally, making it somewhat awkward to fit everything else in)

This would have been a really great place to insert a picture of me driving this van. Alas, we neglected to take one. 

Our new house is mostly in order now. We have half a box left to unpack, and then the moving continues of all those random little things that are still over at our place. 

Good sense tells me I should sleep, so I will leave it here. Good night!

Leave a Reply

