Shopping

For some reason, I tend to do most of my clothes shopping while on vacation. I don’t know what it is about being away from home that primes my shopping instinct. Maybe all those cross-border shopping trips we took when I was a child unintentionally told me that shopping at home is less fun than shopping in the States.

To add more fuel to the fire (or rather, I suppose, to douse what shopping spark was left), I got pregnant. To date, the latter half of my pregnancy was probably the time during which I had the least desire to shop. During the last 3 months, I essentially wore the same crew neck shirt from Uniqlo (I had this in multiple colours) with a cardigan and the maternity jeans I bought from Target (I had two pairs). Not knowing how my body would settle post-pregnancy was enough of a deterrent for me not to purchase anything.

I’ll be honest, at 3 months postpartum, there are still many items in my closet that do not fit me. Things are tight where they didn’t used to be, and items just don’t fall the same way. I have tried on my favourite LOFT dress (XS, purchased last year) a number of times and every time I am still not comfortable with how it fits.

Things are looking up, though. I took a trip to our local mall yesterday with Andy asleep in the stroller and managed to find not one, not two, but three things that I liked! I have been on the lookout for an inexpensive one-piece and picked up this swimsuit for only $15 at Boathouse (haven’t shopped there since high school, back when Roxy and Billabong were my go to brands). I also got this maxi dress and this shorter dress from H&M. Now to find a new pair of sandals to replace the one I have essentially worn through.

Leave a Reply

