For the love of books

I have very fond memories of going to the library. When we were little, we would head to our local community centre for our weekly swimming lessons, then head straight to the library, our hair still wet and reeking of chlorine. The library is where I discovered the Sweet Valley High series, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and Dan Gibson’s Solitudes CDs. It was also always my first stop for research projects. Well, that and our Encarta encyclopedia CD-ROM. 

Going to the library is something that we hope will be part of Andy’s weekly routine as he gets bigger. I grew up in a house full of books, thanks in part to my mom’s bonus bucks from Scholastic book orders, but many of those books we could have just borrowed instead of buying. There are definitely books that we want Andy to have his own copy of – classic books like The Giver and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – but there are also many others that will play but a small role in his life. 

Here in Kingston we are blessed with an amazing library system. I remember being in awe of how current its holdings were when I first got a card. Literally anything I was looking for, I could find. They are also charting new paths with a number of online resources like Lynda.com and zinio (for online magazines). It is truly one of the best services Kingston has to offer. I aspire to one day be on its board. 

Anyways, Andy and I walked to the library today. He picked up four board books and I stumbled upon a new requisition entitled Hector and the Search for Happiness. I’m really liking its simple, yet profound voice. Plus I am gleaning some good life advice – “Lesson no. 1: Making comparisons can spoil your happiness.” 

Here’s to many more visits and the continued development of my intellect.  

One thought on “For the love of books

Leave a Reply

