Commuting

When I was little, my dad endured daily the hour or so commute from our home in Markham to his work in Brampton. His situation improved a little when he started working for the City of Toronto and was able to take the GO down to Union Station. Now, he has the luxury of working a few minutes from home, entirely bikeable, mostly walkable, and definitely close enough for a quick nap at home if need be during an hour-long lunch break.

Now that I am all grown up and working a job of my very own, I find myself mulling over this thing called the commute. I am lucky enough in my current situation to be able to bike to one of my workplaces, and though I could definitely bike to some of my supply calls, I continue to choose arriving by car over arriving a hot mess. Over the past year or so, I have met a wealth of wonderful people through work. One of the things I love most about chatting with my co-workers is learning where they’re from and where they live. It never ceases to amaze me how far some of the staff have travelled. When I ask them about their choices, it almost always comes down to the same thing – they love where they live, and work where they need, and it’s all about priorities.

I never thought I would be someone who could commute long(ish) distances to work, but my weekly commute to the Napanee area is starting to change my perception. Yesterday, I took my first ever supply call for the Napanee area, and I was able to make it there and back in under half an hour, happy as a clam. I still cannot fathom driving upwards of an hour, unlike these super commuters, but I might begin to consider something outside of the immediate Kingston area.

How long of a commute is too long for you?

Leave a Reply

